Adventares

Custom Card Game Design

Eldrazi Unleashed – Phase 1 Complete

Phase 1 of my current project, Eldrazi Unleashed (Previously Amaretto, Set 2 in my custom block ‘The Hubris of Caiea’) has been completed!  You can find .PDF files, MSE set files, and MWS plugins on this page (along with files from the first set in the block – Caeia)

I approach design in three large phases: Design, Development, and Playtesting.  I’m not entirely sure of the inner workings of WotC, but my understanding is they approach things the same way.  This first phase, or the design phase, consisted of filling my design skeleton with cards that were functionally and flavorfully more-or-less what I wanted to see.  This isn’t to say that I won’t cut some cards, add some card, or redesign come cards (hell, this is still happening with set 1), but the majority of these cards should functionally remain the same.

I’ll be moving on to stage 2 of the process, in which I rely on many posters on mtgsalvation.com as well as any friendly reader here to provide feedback.  I’m a terrible developer and I won’t be surprised if there are a lot of broken things I’ve done here.  As mentioned in previous posts, development is a bit easier here due to my design philosophy.  This set exists for two formats alone – block constructed and cube drafting.  Therefore the cards don’t have to be balanced around eternal formats and the set doesn’t have to be balanced around booster draft.   I’m not sure how long this process will take, but I’m sure it will be rather lengthy and will overlap with phase 3.

Phase 3 is the most entertaining phase of the design process for me:  Playtesting.  I’ve primarily playtested via Winchester Cube draft via printed proxies, and block constructed via printed proxies and MWS.  I much prefer the proxies method and if you’re in the Oklahoma City area and would like to participate in playtesting, please contact me here or on twitter @RussHenderson and we’ll set up a time to sling some spells.

All in all, this set has been very entertaining and I can’t wait to slog through design to get to the ‘fun part’.  As always, please comment, spread this around on Twitter, etc.!

Leave a Reply

